19th Dec 2017

The North East Disability Sports Awards celebrate the fantastic achievements and contributions that athletes, coaches, clubs and schools have made to disability sport across the region. The event is in its 15th year and is always fiercely contested.

Whilst performing on the world stage is the goal for many, the Awards recognise a much broader range of achievement and endeavour. The performance categories include Male and Female Personality, Young Male and Young Female Achiever and Team and Coach of the Year. There are also awards for Service to Sport, Participation and Schools and Clubs. The 2016 awards saw 98 individuals and clubs nominated for the ten awards reflecting the increasing interest and participation in disability sport in the region.

Triple Paralympic Champion Stephen Miller is once again supporting the event through his Community Interest Company ‘SMILE Through Sport’. Stephen said, ”There are some extremely talented sportspeople in the North East, and some exceptional clubs, coaches and volunteers who are dedicated to developing opportunities for disabled people to take part in sport.  They do fantastic work and I hope a lot of people take the opportunity to nominate them to give them the recognition they deserve.”

Jean Lordon, Executive Director of Tees Valley Sport said: “The awards are a fantastic way to highlight the successes of our region’s sporting stars. We are looking forward to celebrating some very talented sports people and recognising the excellent opportunities being provided by our community sports clubs. It’s great to have the opportunity to honour their achievements.”

The awards are being organised by the regional County Sports Partnerships, in association with sponsors including BBC Newcastle, Sintons Law, Active Northumberland, D&P Trophies, House of Type, Metro Rod North East, SMILE Through Sport, Rotary North East England and Foundation of Light.

The awards ceremony will be held at Ramside Hall Hotel in Durham on Monday 19 March 2018.

For more information please click here. The closing date for nominations is Sunday 28 January 2018.

< Back to posts